Jump label

Service navigation

Main navigation

You are here:

Sub navigation

Main content

Completed projects of the Department of Spatial Planning and Planning Theory

FGW-Research Project "Neighborhood Opportunities" (2016 - 2018)

02.05.2016 – Effects of socio-spatial structures on individual live chances

Opportunities define people’s prospects in life. They differ by individual as well as socio-structural characteristics. Social affiliation has a strong influence on opportunities, therefore it leads to social inequalities. From a spatial researcher’s perspective, the influence of the neighborhood on people’s opportunities and thus on social inequalities is of substantial concern.


COST Action 803 »Cities Regrowing Smaller« (CIRES)


01.03.2011 – At the beginning of the 21st century, the shrinking cities phenomenon is widespread in Europe. To deal with the results of demographic, economic and physical contraction processes and to plan for the future of considerably smaller but nevertheless livable cities is one of the most challenging tasks for urban Europe in the near future.
Against this background, the Action aims at fostering knowledge on regeneration strategies in shrinking cities across Europe. By promoting the exchange of scientific knowledge and the stimulation of new ideas in selected reference cities, the gender-balanced network with proposers from ten countries will act as a catalyst for new solutions to deal with demographic changes and to design the restructuring of shrinking cities in Europe.
Significant benefits at the European level are envisaged, resulting in a common framework of terminology and synopsis of published research in this field, exemplary regeneration strategies and a best practice database.


MORO Urban-Rural-Partnership: supraregional – innovative – diverse

Moro Stadt_Land_Partnerschaft

01.03.2011 – Central German Metropolitan Region: Partnership of Metropolitan Regions – Partnership of City Regions

The Central German Metropolitan Region is composed of the cities Chemnitz, Dessau-Roßlau, Dresden, Gera, Halle, Leipzig, Magdeburg, Zwickau as well as Jena, which represents the ImPuls-Region Erfurt-Weimar-Jena; its territory enfolds the federal states Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt and Thuringia. Inter-municipal collaboration in the polycentric Central German Metropolitan Region increased and expanded spatially as well as thematically since its beginnings in the 1990s. From start on the aim was to assert oneself in international competition against other metropolitan regions regarding size, financial and economic strength as well as external perception. To do so the existing potentials of every single city region have been trussed and enhanced on a metropolitan region level. This “Pilot Scheme of Spatial Planning” (MORO) ties in with the results of the former MORO called “supra-regional partnerships” (2008-2010) and aims at the further development of the supra-regional regulation approach of the Central German partnership as a “partnership of city regions”.


MORO Überregionale Partnerschaften in grenzüberschreitenden Verflechtungsräumen – Begleitende Expertisen


01.03.2011 – Die Benachteiligung von Grenzregionen ist in doppelter Hinsicht evident: Zum einen durchschneiden Verwaltungsgrenzen diese Räume, trennen ihre Teilgebiete wirtschaftlich, sozial und kulturell voneinander ab und erschweren eine kohärente Entwicklungsstrategie. Zum anderen wurden Grenzgebiete im Rahmen nationaler Politiken häufig vernachlässigt, so dass ihre Wirtschaft tendenziell marginalisiert wurde.


MORO Überregionale Partnerschaften: Metropolregion Sachsendreieck - Vom Städtenetz zur überregionalen Partnerschaft


01.03.2011 – Die Metropolregion Mitteldeutschland (bis 2009: Metropolregion Sachsendreieck) versteht sich als Partnerschaft von Stadtregionen der drei mitteldeutschen Länder. Förmliche Mitglieder sind die Oberzentren Chemnitz, Dessau-Roßlau, Dresden, Gera, Halle, Leipzig, Magdeburg, Zwickau sowie Jena für die ImPuls-Region Erfurt-Weimar-Jena. Die Oberzentren sollen als Vertreter ihre Stadtregion die Abstimmung innerhalb des Verflechtungsbereiches sicherstellen. Die drei Länder Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt und Thüringen wirken beratend mit.